Memphis Athletics Apologizes For Not Being Up On The Lingo the Kids Are Using These Days

bust-a-nut

Memphis Athletics is totally sorry for not having the proper street vocabulary to prevent sexually charged spirit wear from reaching the masses, and its official website.  You’ll have to excuse them, for they are long in the tooth, sheltered by the high walls of a Germantown suburb, and had no idea that the kids had new terms for such things.  Next time, Associate AD Bill Winn guarantees, they will do the necessary slang due diligence and consult the appropriate resources to enhance their cred. 

I can only say that I am incredibly embarrassed by the situation and will make absolutely sure in the future that I check the UrbanDictionary.com if I do not know the meaning of some modern day phrase or term.

Memphis Athletics…getting more hip one Urban Dictionary definition search at a time.

You can see the entire email (a missive that would have only been netter had he ended it “Skeet skeet skeet, Bill Winn”) after the jump. [HT: Abelmagwitch2 @ Nafoom]

I am writing in response to your e-mail complaining about the game day t-shirt offered by Champion Awards and advertised on the Athletic Department website. Quite frankly, as an alumnus of the University, a staff member of athletics and the individual who ultimately approved the design, I am also embarrassed and ashamed.

The design for this shirt came to me through our licensing organization in Atlanta, Georgia, by way of Champion Awards. Ironically, the design was sent to Ole Miss first for their approval before being sent to me for final approval. I can honestly tell you as an older individual who has been with the university since I graduated in the early 1970s, I had no idea of the slang, street-lingo meaning of the phrase.

As soon as I was informed of the situation, I contacted the owner of Champion Awards and the shirts were pulled from the market place and have been destroyed. The ads were immediately pulled from the website.

I can only say that I am incredibly embarrassed by the situation and will make absolutely sure in the future that I check the UrbanDictionary.com if I do not know the meaning of some modern day phrase or term.

Sincerely,

Bob Winn
Associate AD/External
University of Memphis

Leave a Reply

